The World of Neil Gaiman
a kate west recommendation and a fangirl's Dream

The Sandman series is a visually stunning and esoterically entertaining view of the character of Dream (Morpheus). And his family (which includes his ├╝ber trendy Goth sister Death). At times cynical, dark and biting, it can also be surprisingly light. But only once in a while. Mostly, it's a surreal fantasy world of omnipotent gods who play with human emotions. Keep in mind however, how even the mighty must fall.

The Sandman is one of the Endless Ones. There are seven fascinating members in the genealogy: Destiny, Death, Destruction, Despair, Desire and Delirium (a particular odd delight). Each of them has his/her own story to tell, but Dream features prominently. Forced into exile, escaping, dying and returning, ad nauseam, are all part of his own timeline (which is never in sync with our own). Credit the vivid imagination richly unfolding in each graphic novel to creator Neil Gaiman's genius. Every one is a special treat and should be savored like a Chagall in a museum. But see for yourself. Please.

Start With This One:
The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes

The Endless Ones:

No comments: